Back to overview

JULY 2021: PEOPLE OF HICO – CHRIS DE NYSSCHEN, SENIOR FRONT END SOFTWARE ENGINEER

Publication date: 9 July 2021

Your full name and surname?

Christiaan Johannes de Nysschen (Chris).

Place of birth.

Kempton Park, South Africa.

Do you still live there?

No.

How long have you been working at HICO?

Started 1st July 2021.

Your favorite thing about HICO?

The culture and awesome team.

What is your favorite thing to do in your line of work?

Being involved in designing, developing, and deploying software.

What is your least favorite thing to do in your line of work?

Bugs – every developer’s least favorite.

What would you say is the biggest challenge in your job?

Familiarizing myself with the Software.

Did you notice any shift in dynamic or major change in your work since the pandemic started?

Yes, most definitely. I am more focused on what I do working remotely. 

Any annoying trend you see in your industry right now?

Recruiters can be daunting.

What is a major change you expect in your industry in the next 5-10 years?

AI – Artificial Intelligence will continue to rise.

Name someone in your industry whose content you really enjoy following.

Mosh Hamedani – YouTube.

What is the most interesting thing you have read this week?

If Computer Programming were a country, it would have held the 2nd most diversity in the number of languages with more than 700, approximately. Something to ponder…

Name someone who inspires you in life and in work.

My older brother, Nico. From working in the airfreight industry to becoming a developer and ultimately assistant director. Married. Family. Kids. Student of Life. My brother inspires me to be the best I can be.

What is the most interesting job you have ever had?

Most definitely this one.

Describe yourself in 3 words.

Honest, authentic, and intellectual.

What is one thing about you that people would be surprised to know?

I am self-taught. Front-end engineer. Photographer. Drummer.

If you could choose only one thing about you that everyone should know, what would it be?

I always have the best intentions at heart.

Would you say you are more of an introvert or an extrovert?

More of an introvert.

What is the biggest change you noticed in your day-to-day since the pandemic (and the lockdown) started?

Less commute, more time with the family, and I tend to stay in my pajamas more often.

If you could use only one word to describe 2020, what word would it be?

Challenging.

Work or sleep – which do you do more nowadays?

Work.

Did you pick up any new hobbies since the pandemic started?

Online gaming. I also rekindled my love of photography.

Where would you go right now if you were invisible?

The Local Bank 😊 – just kidding.

What is your favorite winter activity?

A warm cup of coffee, popcorn, and a good movie. Playing drums.

What is your favorite summer activity?

Hiking, running, generally being outdoors… Playing drums. Taking photos of nature and all its wonders.

Name one thing you really could NOT live without.

Probably coffee.

Name one thing you really could live without.

Cigarettes.

Favorite movie.

Hacksaw Ridge.

Favorite TV show.

Bear Grylls – anything “survival”.

Favorite book.

My Bible.

Most exciting piece of technology.

My laptop.

What are you looking forward to the most in 2021?

Learning new technologies and the (warm) summer.

Share your best piece of advice.

Defeat – Should Motivate You.

Name 3 things you are going to do right after this call.

Stretch the legs, make some coffee… and then master the tools of my trade! 


If you enjoyed reading this article, make sure to share it with others. You can follow HICO-Group on social media for the latest updates here.

HAVE QUESTIONS?

We'd love to answer them

+49 7732 8934 900
Chat with us
Make an appointment
Download trigger